Home Featured SOULFLY Announce New Album ‘Totem’, Listen To New Song ‘Superstition’

SOULFLY Announce New Album ‘Totem’, Listen To New Song ‘Superstition’


SOULFLY have announced the release of their twelfth studio album, “Totem”, on August 5 via Nuclear Blast.

The follow-up to 2018’s “Ritual” was recorded at Platinum Underground in Mesa, Arizona by John Aquilino and Arthur Rizk with assistance from John Powers. Produced by frontman Max Cavalera alongside Arthur Rizk (KREATOR, MUNICIPAL WASTE, CODE ORANGE),the LP boasts guest appearances from John Powers (ETERNAL CHAMPION),Chris Ulsh (POWER TRIP),and John Tardy (OBITUARY). Rizk was also responsible for playing lead guitar on the record. The artwork for the album was created by James Bousema.

The official lyric video for the album’s first single, “Superstition”, created by Aimed & Framed alongside 3D character artist Álvar Gómez Padilla, can be seen below.

Max Cavalera comments: “‘Totem’ is a celebration of the spiritual nature. It was a two-year journey writing with [my son and SOULFLY drummer] Zyon. This album is about all the joy, the fun and the anger in metal.”

SOULFLY’s “Totem” track listing:

01. Superstition
02. Scouring The Vile
03. Filth Upon Filth
04. Rot In Pain
05. The Damage Done
06. Totem
07. Ancestors
08. Ecstasy Of Gold
09. Soulfly XII
10. Spirit Animal