Home Featured OZZY OSBOURNE On Working With TONY IOMMI Again: ‘I Wish We Had These Songs For BLACK SABBATH’s “13” Album’

OZZY OSBOURNE On Working With TONY IOMMI Again: ‘I Wish We Had These Songs For BLACK SABBATH’s “13” Album’


Legendary metal singer Ozzy Osbourne is set to finally drop his latest solo studio album, “Patient Number 9” on September 9, and recently touched on what it was like to work on new music with his BLACK SABBATH bandmate Tony Iommi again for a couple of songs on the new record.

The album’s first single and music video for the title track, which features the guitar stylings of legendary player Jeff Beck and was directed by comic book legend Todd McFarlane (known for creating Spawn and co-creating the infamous Spider Man villain Venom) can be seen below.

“Having worked with Ozzy in the past, I jumped at another opportunity to do so again…especially on the music side this time,” McFarlane says. “In the harsh business called the music industry, any creative person who’s sustained a multi-decades career has shown the skill, talent and tenacity that will always garner my admiration. Ozzy has shown many of us creative folks that it’s indeed possible to make a living doing what you love for nearly an entire lifetime. Go, Ozzy!”

The album was once again produced by Andrew Watt (who also helmed Ozzy’s last release “Ordinary Man“) and marks Osbourne’s 13th solo studio release.

Patient Number 9” was written by Ozzy, Watt, Robert Trujillo (METALLICA),Chad Smith (RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS) and Ali Tamposi and as mentioned previously, features a riveting solo from guitarist Jeff Beck. The video marks the first collaboration from the project with McFarlane. It is highlighted by McFarlane’s signature illustrations interspersed with live Ozzy vignettes in the role of “Patient Number 9,” which the revolutionary creative force in the world of comics and toys also filmed. In addition, this is the first-ever video to incorporate Ozzy’s artwork: his hand-drawn demons were animated and can be seen during the Jeff Beck solo in the song.

An exclusive version of “Patient Number 9” with a limited-edition special McFarlane-designed comic book will be available for preorder; a limited-edition comic with foil cover is also available with a special deluxe box.

Ozzy Osbourne discusses “Patient Number 9” in the new interview below.

Q: This is your first album to be released after the pandemic. What was going through your mind during the early days of the pandemic and are any of those feelings reflected in these songs?

Ozzy: “Well, I was vaccinated and boosted and I still caught COVID in the end. My last album (‘Ordinary Man‘) was released just a few weeks before the pandemic started, and I was just about getting ready to go into the studio to work on this new one when the world shut down. It’s no secret that the last four years have been very difficult for me but making this album took my mind off of my problems.”

Q: The album features some players with whom have history. What was it like to be reunited with Tony Iommi musically?

Ozzy: “It was really great working with Tony. He’s the riff master. No one can touch him in that respect. I only wish we had these songs for BLACK SABBATH‘s ‘13‘ album.”

Q: Zakk contributes a lot on this album. How was the decision made to have him play since he didn’t play on the last album?

Ozzy: “Zakk is part of my family and always will be. The album needed that weight that his playing provides. He just came in and really sorted things out.”

Q: Tell us about the first single, “Patient Number 9“, which features Jeff Beck. What do you feel he has contributed to the song?

Ozzy: “The song is about a mental institution. Having someone like Jeff Beck play on my album is just incredible, a total honor. There’s no other guitar player that plays like him and his solo on ‘Patient Number 9‘ is just jaw-dropping.”

Ozzy Osbourne “Patient Number 9” track listing:

01. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
02. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
03. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
04. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
05. One Of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
06. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
07. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
08. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
09. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead And Gone
12. God Only Knows
13. Darkside Blues