Home Featured Listen To The New MASTODON Song ‘Fallen Torches’

Listen To The New MASTODON Song ‘Fallen Torches’

mastodon fallen torches, Listen To The New MASTODON Song ‘Fallen Torches’

As we mentioned yesterday, MASTODON are set to release a rarities collection called “Medium Rarities” on September 11 which includes the killer new song “Fallen Torches” (featuring a guest appearance by Scott Kelly from NEUROSIS.  So what’s rarities collection I speak of you ask?  Well it’s looking like a bevy of classic covers, soundtrack contributions, instrumentals, B-sides, and live recordings all in one complete package for the very first time.

Among an eclectic array of covers, MASTODON pull out “A Commotion” by FEIST, “A Spoonful Weighs A Ton” by THE FLAMING LIPS, “Atlanta” by BUTTHOLE SURFERS, and “Orion” by METALLICA. It also features soundtrack cuts such as “White Walker” (from the “Game Of Thrones”-inspired mix tape) and the soundtrack song “Cut You Up With A Linoleum Knife” (“Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film For Theaters”). Meanwhile, they get under the hood with instrumental versions of “Asleep In The Deep”, “Toe To Toes”, “Jaguar God” and “Halloween”. 14 of these tracks have never been available on streaming services until now. The limited-edition double LP is pressed on pink vinyl.

Regarding “Fallen Torches”, MASTODON said in a press release: “This classic MASTODON track was recorded in Atlanta in 2019, originally planned to be released in support of a European tour. The track was delayed so the band could focus on the release of ‘Stairway To Nick John’, a tribute to [MASTODON’s] late, long time manager Nick John, with proceeds going to the Hirshberg Foundation for Pacreatic Cancer Research in his honor.”

“Medium Rarities” track listing:

01. Fallen Torches
02. A Commotion (FEIST cover)
03. Asleep In The Deep (instrumental)
04. Capillarian Crest (live)
05. A Spoonful Weighs A Ton (THE FLAMING LIPS cover)
06. Toe To Toes (instrumental)
07. Circle Of Cysquatch (live)
08. Atlanta (feat. Gibby Haynes)
09. Jaguar God (instrumental)
10. Cut You Up With A Linoleum Knife
11. Blood & Thunder
12. White Walker
13. Halloween (instrumental)
14. Crystal Skull (live)
15. Orion (METALLICA cover)
16. Iron Tusk (live)

MASTODON is currently working on the follow-up to 2017’s “Emperor Of Sand” album for a tentative 2021 release.

Check out ‘Fallen Torches’ below.  It’s pretty bad ass.

YouTube video

mastodon fallen torches, Listen To The New MASTODON Song ‘Fallen Torches’