BMG has announced the release of a commemorative triple black vinyl album in honor of the 40th anniversary of IRON MAIDEN’s seminal third album, “The Number Of The Beast”

Included in the new vinyl package is “Beast Over Hammersmith” — available now officially for the very first time on vinyl — featuring the live concert from March 1982’s now-legendary Hammersmith Odeon London show from the “Beast On The Road” world tour.

Recorded only days before the release of “The Number Of The Beast” album, it’s remarkable to think these now-classic songs at that time were still brand new, unfamiliar and being heard live by fans for the very first time. A real piece of history in the making.

IRON MAIDEN’s Triple Vinyl “The Number Of The Beast” track listing:

Disc 1 – The Number Of The Beast

Side 1:

01. Invaders
02. Children Of The Damned
03. The Prisoner
04. 22 Acacia Avenue

Side 2:

01. The Number Of The Beast
02. Run To The Hills
03. Total Eclipse*
04. Hallowed Be Thy Name

*alternative track listing to original “The Number Of The Beast” vinyl release. “Total Eclipse” replaces “Gangland

Disc 2 – Beast Over Hammersmith

Side 3:

01. Murders In The Rue Morgue
02. Wrathchild
03. Run To The Hills
04. Children of The Damned
05. The Number Of The Beast

Side 4:

01. Another Life
02. Killers
03. 22 Acacia Avenue
04. Total Eclipse
05. Transylvania

Disc 3 – Beast Over Hammersmith

Side 5:

01. The Prisoner
02. Hallowed Be Thy Name
03. Phantom Of The Opera
04. Iron Maiden

Side 6:

01. Sanctuary
02. Drifter
03. Running Free
04. Prowler

The package features exclusive liner notes written by IRON MAIDEN founder and bassist Steve Harris as well as restored and expanded artwork taken from the CD format of “Beast Over Hammersmith“, previously only available in the limited-edition “Eddie’s Archive” boxset originally released in 2002.

Harris comments: “On this vinyl release we get the chance to put ‘Total Eclipse‘ in its rightful spot on the album for the first time. The reason it didn’t make it in the first place was that it was all a mad rush when we were finishing the record and we had to get the ‘Run To The Hills‘ single out before the tour and we basically had to pick a B-side and it was between ‘Gangland‘ and ‘Total Eclipse‘ and we just picked the wrong one, really! I think ‘Total Eclipse‘ is a stronger song and the album would have been stronger if it had been on there.”

To pre-order the album, go to this location.

iron maiden,iron maiden the number of the beast,iron maiden the number of the beast vinyl,iron maiden the number of the beast 40th anniversary edition,iron maiden the number of the beast 40,iron maiden band,iron maiden beast over hammersmith discogs,beast over hammersmith iron maiden, IRON MAIDEN Announces ‘The Number Of The Beast’ Triple Vinyl Release For It’s 40th Anniversary