EPICA will release “The Alchemy Project” on November 11 through Atomic Fire Records

In the 20 years of their existence, EPICA has never shied away from challenges, twists and turns, weathering every storm and pushing the symphonic metal genre to heights no one even dared to believe in. Since 2002, the band featuring singer Simone Simons and her longtime musical partner Mark Jansen has released eight highly innovative and cinematic albums, has toured the world over and has left its mark as one of metal’s most prolific, most cherished and most admired success stories forever.

With “The Alchemy Project“, EPICA sets another highlight in the band’s 20th-anniversary year. Graced by a vivid and witty artwork by graphic wizard Heilemania, visual partner in crime for more that 15 years, EPICA embarks on a journey through seven extraordinary new songs. Co-written and performed with diverse guests ranging from extremists like FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE, Niilo Sevänen (INSOMNIUM) and Björn “Speed” Strid (SOILWORK) via melodic masters like Tommy Karevik (KAMELOT), keyboard legend Phil Lanzon (URIAH HEEP) and Roel Van Helden (POWERWOLF) to a once-in-a-lifetime song with Simone Simons, Charlotte Wessels and Myrkur, the EPICA members have really outdone themselves once again. The result is a mind-bending EP that even surpasses the usual broad scope of an EPICA record.

The first song they wrote for this seven-track offering was “The Final Lullaby“, a fast-paced, intense clash between EPICA and the avant-garde rock of Norwegian legends SHINING (with saxophone!), graced with one of the biggest refrains you will hear all year.

“I’ve been a big fan of SHINING since the first time I heard them,” bassist Rob Van Der Loo says. “Our intention with ‘The Final Lullaby‘ was to make a mash-up between EPICA and SHINING so we thought it would be a good idea if I would come up with some riffs that would be typical SHINING and they would do the complete opposite.”

The seven songs on “The Alchemy Project” were co-written and performed with the following renowned guest musicians:

01. The Great Tribulation [feat. FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE]
02. Wake The World [feat. Phil Lanzon (URIAH HEEP) & Tommy Karevik (KAMELOT)]
03. The Final Lullaby [feat. SHINING]
04. Sirens – Of Blood And Water [feat. Charlotte Wessels & Myrkur]
05. Death Is Not The End [feat. Frank Schiphorst (MAYAN) & Björn “Speed” Strid (SOILWORK)]
06. Human Devastation [feat. Henri Sattler (GOD DETHRONED), Sven de Caluwé (ABORTED)]
07. The Miner [feat. Asim Searah (DAMNATION PLAN), Niilo Sevänen (INSOMNIUM), Roel Van Helden (POWERWOLF)]

The Alchemy Project” is now available for worldwide pre-order as digipak CD, LP or digitally.

epica,epica band,epica the alchemy project,epica new ep,epica fleshgod apocalypse,epica kamelot,epica soilwork,epica shining, EPICA Announces ‘The Alchemy Project’ EP